GEM Rating

GEM Sustainability Certification Rating Program -

GEM Sustainability Certification Rating Program aims to address the sustainability of a given development throughout its lifecycle from design through construction to operation. GEM Sustainability Certification Reference Guide provides design guidance and detailed requirements for rating a project’s potential performance.

Project team can go for a Certification of Intent (Pre-certification / Provisional Certification) rating during pre-design, design or construction stages of the project and Final Certification rating when the building is complete.

Initially, ASSOCHAM will register the projects and showcase the details and highlights of the projects during the GEM Sustainability Certification Rating Program launch event in January 2018 in New Delhi.

Pre-certification / Provisional Certification / Certification of Intent rating will be awarded within 50 days from the date of the program launch event / project registration with ASSOCHAM depending upon the construction stage of the project.

ASSOCHAM is offering a special fee for ASSOCHAM members or first 50 projects to be registered for the rating program. The fee shall be Rs. 2,50,000 only for ASSOCHAM members or first 50 projects. This is the onetime certification fee till the award of final certification rating. GST shall be extra as applicable.

GEM Sustainability Certification Rating levels -

GEM Sustainability Certification Rating is organized into Twenty Eight Principles that are fundamental to a more sustainable development. There are some Essential and Suggested requirements of each Principle. Points are awarded for each Suggested requirement achieved.

There is a 0-130 point scale. Project will achieve GEM 1 to GEM 5 rating levels as per the requirements fulfilled and scores achieved by the project. This depends upon the project design which includes building architectural and elevation design, materials used during construction, HVAC, lighting and plumbing system designs, water and energy consumption of the building.

To achieve a GEM Sustainability Certification Rating, all Essential Principle requirements must be fulfilled along with a minimum number of Principle points. GEM 5 will be the highest achievable rating level in this program.

Key benefits of the certification –

  1. Review of all design documents such as Architectural, Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing and Landscape by Sustainability experts for further value addition from green building perspective.
  2. Energy and water efficient building design that will reduce the energy and water consumption of the building.
  3. Design of a building that will utilize maximum daylight, fresh air and provide healthy environment to the building occupants.
  4. Sustainability Certification rating will give additional marketing mileage to the projects over other conventional buildings. 


S. No.

Point Scored

GEM Levels



All essential requirements and 40 - 49 points



All essential requirements and 50 - 64 points



All essential requirements and 65 - 84 points



All essential requirements and 85 - 104 points



All essential requirements and 105 points or above



 For any query, please contact -

1. Neeraj Arora
    Senior Director
    Phone: 011 - 46550557 (D) / +91 98874 84179

2. Amit Kumar Sharma
    Joint Director
    Phone: 011 - 46550605 (D) / +91

Important Links

Subscribe Newsletters for Update

Quick Enquiry

© 2017. All Rights Reserved.